Music Review: Logic- Confessions of a Dangerous Mind: Well… it’s better than Supermarket

TheReKliner
4 min readMay 15, 2019

--

We are only five months into 2019, and Logic has already given us two albums to listen to this year. It’s insane to me that I haven’t even reviewed 200 records yet total, and again this will be the 4th Logic project that I am discussing. This year has been a bad year so far for Logic, however, as he released a couple of singles from this album such as “Keanu Reaves” and “Confessions of a Dangerous Mind” which I thought were both lackluster in all aspects. Plus he released the Supermarket album which was a bold change in music style and influences. This bold change was one of the worst moves in a musical style that I have ever heard any artist attempt. So already, Logic had been leaving a terrible ringing in my ears throughout the year. I was hoping that maybe that Logic would come back with an album that would alleviate this ringing a bit. While this album is much better than his Supermarket soundtrack, the ringing in my ear is still there.

Logic has come out with one of the most inconsistent albums I have heard in a long time. Some songs on here are easily some of the best that he’s released in the past year, and then some songs are almost as bad as songs from Supermarket, which is not good whatsoever.

On the right side of things we have the track “Homicide” which features Eminem and I have to say, the two together put on a pretty entertaining show. They both showed off their lightning fast flows with lyrics that steer clear from being corny. Plus the beat that these two rap over hits hard as well. Creating a well put together song. The song “Don’t Be Afraid To Be Different” has a nice deep and slightly gritty bass line to it that gives the song character. The beat to this song is probably the most unique one on the album. Will Smith makes an appearance on this song too that goes pretty well on this song. Logic himself isn’t that bad either on this song, but he does say at one point: / I don’t give a damn ‘bout lyrics/, which might explain why he’s had some pretty bad lyrics on his last couple albums now.

Now on to some of the bad we have the song “clickbait” which has this annoying chorus on it followed by some pretty horrendous singing by Logic in the first verse. The beat as well on this song is also forgettable. Honestly, I’m happy I don’t have to hear this song again, but I’m even more pleased that I do not have to listen to the track “COMMANDO” feat. G-Eazy. The beat in this song is dull as could be. The production sounds so bland as well, and the performance that Logic puts on this thing is unbearable. The part where he starts rapping or I guess sings where he talks about gloves, and Michael Jackson made me pause the music and think about what I’m doing with my life for about two minutes. It made me cringe so hard that I debated skipping to the next song, but I somehow pulled through, and I don’t know why though, because G-Eazy doesn’t do anything to make the song any better. The song “Icy” has the worst chorus/hook quickly on the entire album. Logic tries to do this odd higher pitched voice that makes it sound like someone is doing a bad impersonation of what is supposed to be on the song. Then there is the song “Cocaine” which has the weakest and laziest lyrics on the album. The only thing that saves the song from being bad is that it does have a decent beat to it.

The rest of the album is just so painfully average that I wonder if there was a lot of thought put into this project. He shows that he can rap pretty well on most of the album, but the lyrics and sometimes the backing production doesn’t do enough to bring the songs out of an average sound.

One of the better average tracks “Limitless” has lyrics in it that explain a lot of why he is releasing so much music as of late. He feels that he is going to be forgotten by everyone if he is not releasing music all the time. The problem with his mindset is that he is forcing semi-decent to bad songs on his projects instead of waiting to make a bunch of good to great songs to put onto an album. This has tainted his discography to a possible point of no return, and I feel if he keeps doing this, he will be forgotten anyways from consistently poor releases.

Overall, Logic needs to take more time to make an album or mixtape. There’s no question that his wanting to release a bunch of music each year is causing his product to dip in quality at an alarming rate. He needs to take a break and take some time to revamp his craft a little and get back to releasing quality content that he had done early in his career. Because I know he can release some outstanding music because he has done it in the past. But his latest attempt has shown that his talent within the rap genre is fading.

4.5/10

BEST: Homicide; Don’t Be Afraid To Be Different;

WORST: COMMANDO; clickbait; Cocaine

--

--